Chancellorship of

Syedna Taher Saifuddin

Syedna with Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and President Zakir Husain at AMU campus.

In 1946, AMU presented His Holiness Dr Syedna Taher Saifuddin with an honorary degree of the Doctor of Theology.

In 1953, Syedna Saifuddin accepted the University’s chancellorship and held it for one of the longest tenures: nearly 12 years. During this time, Aligarh Muslim University prospered. Its position as one of the top ranking institutions of the nation was solidified, and its status as a world-class educational institute in the eyes of the global Muslim community was enhanced.

‘So far only Kings, Governors and Rulers of the Princely States were selected for this exalted position, but now piety, virtue and wisdom adorn this seat of honour.’
Former Vice-Chancellor of AMU and the 3rd President of India, the late Dr Zakir Husain; in honour of His Holiness Dr Syedna Taher Saifuddin.
Syedna was presented the degree of Doctor of Theology (D.Th,) honoris causa, on 14th April, 1946.
Syedna Taher Saifuddin being given a warm welcome by the University’s student association.

In 1953 when His Holiness Syedna Taher Saifuddin accepted the chancellorship of AMU, he became the first leader of the Dawoodi Bohra community.

To champion the cause of education on a global platform with the same commitment and diligence with which he and his predecessors had continued to do so for members of the community throughout the centuries. His Holiness Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin furthered his father’s noble legacy when he became Chancellor in 1999. The current Chancellor, His Holiness Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin continues to champion his predecessors.

‘Aligarh Muslim university is a centre for all people to come together, embracing the differences in their creed.’
HH Dr Syedna Taher Saifuddin in an address given at King Saud’s degree conferral, 1955

In the period of his chancellorship, aside from visits of India’s own national leaders, the heads of states of four other nations visited AMU and were conferred with honorary doctorates:

 in 1955 King Saud Bin Abdul Aziz of Saudi Arabia, in 1956 Shah Raza Shah Pahlavi of Iran, in 1958 King Zahir Shah of Afghanistan and in 1960 Gamal Abdel Nasir, President of Egypt.Dr Syedna Taher Saifuddin’s chancellorship contributed towards the prestige of Aligarh Muslim University and helped towards providing the Muslim Ummah with a common platform and cause, fostering an unprecedented environment of harmony and brotherhood.

‘It is my utmost desire that our university become an exemplar of tenacity, organisation and discipline: not discipline that is forced but one that is borne out of freedom, where an individual understands his responsibilities on his own and brings them to fruition.’
HH Dr Syedna Taher Saifuddin, November, 1955.
Syedna is seen here donning the Doctoral robe

Follow us