Aligarh Muslim University (AMU)

A Special Bond with the Dawoodi Bohra Community Leadership
Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) , a celebrated seat of learning, has been associated with the leadership of the Dawoodi Bohra community for nearly 70 years. Founded by Sir Syed Ahmed Khan in 1875 as the Anglo-Muhammadan Oriental College (AMO), the university has grown in size, stature and scope and established itself as one of the sought-after institutions for higher education in India today. 

Spread out over a sprawling campus of 467.6 hectares in Uttar Pradesh, the university today has more than 110 departments offering more than 350 courses in a wide variety of subjects. From the third President of India, Dr Zakir Husain to the Hockey stalwart Major Dhyan Chand; AMU has nurtured distinguished graduates who went on to serve society in various meaningful capacities.
In 1953 when His Holiness Syedna Taher Saifuddin accepted the chancellorship of AMU, he became the first leader of the Dawoodi Bohra community to champion the cause of education on a global platform with the same commitment and diligence with which he and his predecessors had continued to do so for members of the community throughout the centuries. His Holiness Syedna Mohammed Burhanuddin furthered his father’s noble legacy when he became Chancellor in 1999. The current Chancellor, His Holiness Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin continues to champion his predecessors’ cause; a cause that is embedded in the community’s ethos and based on the Prophetic tradition: ‘Seeking knowledge is obligatory upon every Muslim, man and woman.’

Follow us